Jump to content


Photo

E46 Limp Mode 320D


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 cf_corp

cf_corp

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Current Car:E46 BMW 320D SE 136bhp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gweedore Donegal Ireland
  • Interests:Fixing my Bimmer, Driving my Bimmer, Getting good MPG and MPH from my Bimmer. Keeping it OEM

Posted 28 October 2012 - 07:12 PM

Hi,
My 320d developed a problem where its got no boost under full throttle. it feels dead, it just started to day, i removed the plug for the maf and it didnt make any difference. I have inpa is there anything that can be done there? the dde3.0 doesnt work with inpa on my car but. anything it could be, my car was really low on fuel at the time but i doubt that would make a difference, anything i can check ior anyway of getting codes via inpa without going into dde module. There are no EML lights etc


#2 Wash

Wash

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,340 posts
  • Current Car:MK5 Golf GTI '07, MK2.5 Mazda MX5 '03, Mazda 3 1.6d '07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham

Posted 28 October 2012 - 07:34 PM

Yes, check for the codes first. Have you tried cleaning out the EGR valve?

#3 cf_corp

cf_corp

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Current Car:E46 BMW 320D SE 136bhp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gweedore Donegal Ireland
  • Interests:Fixing my Bimmer, Driving my Bimmer, Getting good MPG and MPH from my Bimmer. Keeping it OEM

Posted 28 October 2012 - 08:53 PM

hi,
egr valave was cleaned and then disconnected a few months ago,
How do i read the codes with inpa if the DDE 3.0 unit isnt comaptible with my 136bhp m47, is there somewhere else i can see it, or get live readings through the instrument cluster module with inpa?

#4 robocoupe

robocoupe

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 497 posts
  • Current Car:Sixpot Coupe
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The red side of Liverpool

Posted 28 October 2012 - 09:04 PM

Is it an auto?

                                                                        BMW_zps3586e7c3.jpg


#5 cf_corp

cf_corp

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Current Car:E46 BMW 320D SE 136bhp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gweedore Donegal Ireland
  • Interests:Fixing my Bimmer, Driving my Bimmer, Getting good MPG and MPH from my Bimmer. Keeping it OEM

Posted 28 October 2012 - 09:17 PM

nope manual

#6 marc l

marc l

    Advanced Member

  • Subscriber
  • 2,753 posts
  • Current Car:2001 BMW 318ci Coupe
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South London

Posted 28 October 2012 - 10:12 PM

You can get live info on the instrument cluster but its only coolant temp, mpg ect. So don't think that would help.

Have you tried plugging the egr back in? It def sounds like you needs the codes read and cleared :)

IMG_0604_zps091be17a.jpg


#7 robocoupe

robocoupe

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 497 posts
  • Current Car:Sixpot Coupe
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The red side of Liverpool

Posted 28 October 2012 - 10:27 PM

If you are able to, get your transmission speed sensor checked.

                                                                        BMW_zps3586e7c3.jpg


#8 cf_corp

cf_corp

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Current Car:E46 BMW 320D SE 136bhp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gweedore Donegal Ireland
  • Interests:Fixing my Bimmer, Driving my Bimmer, Getting good MPG and MPH from my Bimmer. Keeping it OEM

Posted 29 October 2012 - 04:09 PM

ok so ill try using dis but my lappy i have it on is so slow, but i think that works with the dde3.0 failing that i will take it to a local indy with carsoft

#9 cf_corp

cf_corp

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Current Car:E46 BMW 320D SE 136bhp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gweedore Donegal Ireland
  • Interests:Fixing my Bimmer, Driving my Bimmer, Getting good MPG and MPH from my Bimmer. Keeping it OEM

Posted 30 October 2012 - 09:14 AM

Im gonna have to try and get the codes read, however, i noticed that there was no pwer in my car when i started my 35 mile drive to work, then after being on a long straightish road cruising at 60mph in 5th i noticed when i floored it, the car leapt into life, i wasnt sure why, i even slowed down at junctions and floored it and there was that familiar smooth power delivery, after about 5 mins though i noticed the car started chugging when i floored it and eventually it went back to miserable mode. I wonder: my car was low in fuel, i mean 9-10 mile range on the trip computer low, i was going down to fill it up, i wonder if its a fuel issue? whether its restricted or something? as i was driving on a straight maybe it built up in the lines or something? how would i check/confirm this other that changing the fuel filter, my filter being the one in the engine bay as opposed to the one under the car.

#10 CliffThomson

CliffThomson

    E46 Spanner Monkey

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,121 posts
  • Current Car:BMW 320d SE Touring E46, Fern Green.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Orpington, Kent
  • Interests:Music, Movies, Cinema, Bowling.

Posted 30 October 2012 - 11:49 AM

If you look in the INPA menus, there are various versions relating to the DDE for each of the 320d lumps. Maybe you've got the wrong software version onboard, or need a later version. If you do let me know, may be able to help. Someone on here posted a link not long back listing a download for a version that covers all the DDE versions for the 2.0 diesel lumps. A forum search may help.
It's a shame you're so far north, i'm in Co Kerry at the moment, and you could have copied my install media.

#11 cf_corp

cf_corp

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Current Car:E46 BMW 320D SE 136bhp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gweedore Donegal Ireland
  • Interests:Fixing my Bimmer, Driving my Bimmer, Getting good MPG and MPH from my Bimmer. Keeping it OEM

Posted 30 October 2012 - 02:13 PM

hmm dont suppose you have the link to that topic, ive been searching but to no avail, although a google search turned up a dde 3.0 adding ipna to the 136bhp guide from bimmerforums, but that thread you mentioned seems very interesting if i can find it

#12 cf_corp

cf_corp

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Current Car:E46 BMW 320D SE 136bhp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gweedore Donegal Ireland
  • Interests:Fixing my Bimmer, Driving my Bimmer, Getting good MPG and MPH from my Bimmer. Keeping it OEM

Posted 30 October 2012 - 05:57 PM

damn, just read the codes it says air mass meter too small, if i clear it, the error stays away until i rev the car a bit, then rescan for codes it reappers as air mass meter, error currently active. replace the MAF then.

#13 B0B

B0B

    Advanced Member

  • Subscriber
  • 5,856 posts
  • Current Car:325i Saloon
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northamptonshire

Posted 30 October 2012 - 06:10 PM

damn, just read the codes it says air mass meter too small, if i clear it, the error stays away until i rev the car a bit, then rescan for codes it reappers as air mass meter, error currently active. replace the MAF then.

You can confirm it by unplugging the maf because if it's not connected the car runs on preset values, if it runs better with the maf disconnected it will confirm you need to replace it.
33d0b75d-348e-4aa1-a741-c1115cbebb61_zps
Fitted/Retrofitted so far; BBS style 42 split rims, Storm Motorwerks shift knob & handbrake handle, M3 front strut brace, AC Schnitzer mirrors, CCFL Angel eyes, OEM Xenons, electric lumbar support, sport suspension, electric heated individual nappa sport interior, sport steering wheel, piano black interior trim, sport kick plates, goodridge braided hoses, CDV delete, adjustable clutch stop, cluster rings & red needles & depo tinted front indicators.

#14 cf_corp

cf_corp

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Current Car:E46 BMW 320D SE 136bhp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gweedore Donegal Ireland
  • Interests:Fixing my Bimmer, Driving my Bimmer, Getting good MPG and MPH from my Bimmer. Keeping it OEM

Posted 30 October 2012 - 06:26 PM

it kind of runs the same, but witout the chugging, i was looking at the live data from inpa before i patched in the dde 3.0 ECU compatability, the maf was reading a crazy value like !20.33 etc and not changign with revving, unlike the other sensors

Attached Files


Edited by cf_corp, 30 October 2012 - 06:53 PM.


#15 edber

edber

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 677 posts
  • Current Car:02 320d 136bhp m47 titan silver saloon.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland

Posted 30 October 2012 - 08:32 PM

it kind of runs the same, but witout the chugging, i was looking at the live data from inpa before i patched in the dde 3.0 ECU compatability, the maf was reading a crazy value like !20.33 etc and not changign with revving, unlike the other sensors

I have the same engine as you and my maf reading in inpa is 32.36 at idle,but my car is going grand.What is that dde3.0 compatibility thing you mentioned?There is a change to the inpa cfg file that will allow
dde3.0 to show in inpa but the menus will be in german.

Edited by edber, 30 October 2012 - 08:37 PM.


#16 cf_corp

cf_corp

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Current Car:E46 BMW 320D SE 136bhp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gweedore Donegal Ireland
  • Interests:Fixing my Bimmer, Driving my Bimmer, Getting good MPG and MPH from my Bimmer. Keeping it OEM

Posted 30 October 2012 - 09:33 PM

yes for the most part the menus will be in german, i havent found the english m47 dde 3.0 thing although as you can see from the screenshots above they are kind of in english. i have some german anyway so it wasnt too bad for me. i thought id stick in the funny reading from the maf, however, it consistintly sees an issue with the MAF and it looks like it may be dead, anyone have thoughts or that? thanks

#17 CliffThomson

CliffThomson

    E46 Spanner Monkey

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,121 posts
  • Current Car:BMW 320d SE Touring E46, Fern Green.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Orpington, Kent
  • Interests:Music, Movies, Cinema, Bowling.

Posted 31 October 2012 - 09:28 AM

Dead MAF, for sure. Not a cheap part either!
Get it done. You'll see a world of difference.

#18 cf_corp

cf_corp

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Current Car:E46 BMW 320D SE 136bhp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gweedore Donegal Ireland
  • Interests:Fixing my Bimmer, Driving my Bimmer, Getting good MPG and MPH from my Bimmer. Keeping it OEM

Posted 31 October 2012 - 10:21 AM

yeah, i mean the code is there, clear the error code, its back again, so there is a problem. i dont know if its better when its disconnected, unless it was already reverted to factory setting as the maf may have been completly dead,

#19 edber

edber

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 677 posts
  • Current Car:02 320d 136bhp m47 titan silver saloon.
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland

Posted 31 October 2012 - 06:04 PM

And you dont need to buy the full maf housing,you can buy the sensor only and put it in the existing housing which will be cheaper.
When i need a new maf i will be going for the pierburg maf sensor.Apparently it gives good results in the m47 engine.

Edited by edber, 31 October 2012 - 06:04 PM.


#20 cf_corp

cf_corp

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Current Car:E46 BMW 320D SE 136bhp
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gweedore Donegal Ireland
  • Interests:Fixing my Bimmer, Driving my Bimmer, Getting good MPG and MPH from my Bimmer. Keeping it OEM

Posted 01 November 2012 - 09:19 AM

yes hopefully, with the new maf that should be it. I understand there is like a learning period for a new sensor as in the adaption vaules, can INPA be used for this as i dont want to fight with vmware/slow laptop and the have DIS gimme some issues when it finally loads, or would i know pretty much right away in terms of power even though it is still adapting to the new sensor, obviously i will clear the code after the install and monitor it to see if it comes back,
a local bmw specialist quoted me €120 for a bosch Maf and i thought that wasnt bad but then he said actually that for a used one, a used one on ebay is like €40, i didnt buy OEM or peirburg, i bought o generic one with a 2yr warranty as i dont think ill have the car for longer after xmas anyway.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users